Is Maple Syrup Gluten-Free?


Highly versatile and deliciously sweet, maple syrup is the perfect addition to a variety of dishes. And as a completely natural product, it’s also suitable for a wide range of diets. 

But is maple syrup gluten-free? If you have coeliac disease and are wondering whether it’s safe to consume maple syrup, you’ve come to the right place. Let’s find out! 

Does maple syrup contain gluten? 

No, maple syrup is naturally gluten-free and so can be safely consumed by people with coeliac disease. This is because pure maple syrup – that is, maple syrup that’s free from artificial additives – is derived solely from a single, natural ingredient: maple tree sap. 

When purchasing maple syrup, it’s important for those on a gluten-free diet to make the distinction between “pure” maple syrup and “maple-flavoured” blends. 

Maple-blended syrups are mixed with other ingredients, and these may not necessarily be gluten-free. So, it’s always best to check the label before buying. 

With pure maple syrup, you can rest assured that the product is made with nothing other than maple sap. This is why pure maple syrup is also completely safe for vegans. 

Learn more about the vegan credentials of maple syrup below. 

A completely natural sweetener

Made solely from the sap of maple trees, maple syrup is a great natural alternative to processed sweeteners like sugar and golden syrup. 

In spring, the sugary sap stored in the roots of the tree is pushed out to the trunk and branches, where it can be extracted or ‘tapped’ using small tubes. 

Once transported to the sugar shack, the maple sap is boiled to reduce its water content, eventually forming the thick liquid we know as maple syrup. 

And that’s it! No other ingredients are used during the production process, minimising the risk of cross-contamination with gluten-containing foods. 

Learn more about the maple production process below.

So, is maple syrup gluten-free? 

Yes, maple syrup is completely gluten-free and suitable for people with coeliac disease. As a natural product, maple syrup undergoes minimal processing and is made entirely from maple tree sap. 

Maple-flavoured blends, on the other hand, contain other ingredients that may contain gluten. With this in mind, it’s always best to check the label and choose a bottle clearly marked as “pure” maple syrup.

Has all this talk of maple syrup made you hungry? Discover exciting new ways to use maple syrup in your cooking and baking with our huge range of maple syrup recipes

More about Maple

Maple syrup comes in four grades

The classification of maple syrup is based on its colour – which changes subtly throughout the spring harvest – and its flavour profile.

Maple syrup is an excellent source of energy

Maple products contain simple carbohydrates that turn into glucose and act as fuel during exercise, which is why they are a popular choice for athletes and fitness fanatics before, during, and after training sessions.

Discover more about using pure Canadian maple syrup to fuel exercise here.

Pure Canadian maple products are stocked all across Australia

From online suppliers to your local stores, find your local stockist of pure Canadian maple syrup here.

Hundreds of Delicious Recipes

Maple is a special addition to any recipe, from appetiser to dessert. Find one that’s perfect for you!